Life from an introvert’s eyes.

Too often people think that we’re just shy not introvert and because of this shyness, there’s something seriously wrong with us. From an early age it was really traumatizing to hear things like: “What is wrong with you? Why are you making such a big problem out of this? Stop overreacting! Stop stressing so much!” You know what? It all made me feel like was insane, like there was some serious illness that needed to be healed as soon as possible. I still get that feeling because I like in a world, where most people are extroverts, where it is normal to say out loud what you think, take things easy, work in groups etc. Worst thing is – not only they do what they do, they pressure us to change, to be like them but we can’t. We feel like not in our own skin. Why can’t extroversy and introversy be equal? Why can’t we live in this world together without trying to change each other and making feel each other like we’re insane?

That feeling when I have an idea, question or suggestion but I can’t bring myself to say it out loud, is a part of my everyday life. My self-esteem is really low already, so I’ll better keep quiet than give you a chance to laugh at me again. When people ask me to do something for them, most of the times I just do it because I have no guts to say “no” when I feel that what I am doing is wrong. When people make a group and try to plan something, I don’t speak but when I do, no one hears me because I always speak quiet. But in those rare times when I finally have a chance to say my word, people just frown and say that my opinion is wrong, my idea is dumb or question is silly? Sad part – when someone extrovert speaks his mind, he’s almost never laughed at, people always listen to him.

The truth is – I really feel discriminized. Hating introverts and thinking that the way they act, think and feel is wrong is the same as bad as hating some race or sex. It’s the way we are and we don’t chose that, so would you please stop making us feel like an outcast? All I ask for is rights – the same that other people have. I want to be heard, I want to be loved for who I am.

P.S. Sorry, if there are any spelling mistakes.

xoxo, Porcelain Doll.

2 thoughts on “Life from an introvert’s eyes.

  1. noel says:

    Totally agree and can totally relate. I am a left-handed, foreign, artistic, introverted person. I am a procrastinator and a minimalist. I rather do things alone, slowly, and without background noise. One time someone asked me if I am always this quiet. Many times people perceive my demeanor as being angry and upset. I am not, I am simply quiet. At my job, I force myself to be outspoken, being the manager, and lead meetings, which is often uncomfortable. I rather be in the background, quiet, and taking notes. But I have learned to be more outspoken, because my job requires it. But when I get home, and go to my “cave” and enjoy being by myself. I have nobody I consider a close friend, and I don’t think I need one. I am content just the way I am. I don’t usually like going to social events, because I feel uncomfortable, not knowing what to talk about. Anyways, thanks for sharing this post.

    • porcelainblackdoll says:

      You’re welcome. Thanks for sharing your experience. 🙂 I knew that a lot of people can relate to this.

Leave a Reply

