Letter to all unsure teen bloggers.

Hey, shy, unsure teen boy or girl!

Starting to run a teen blog isn’t the easiest thing at all. You have a big dream about successful online journal/diary whatever it is but there are many reasons that can easily crush them. I know that, I’ve been there myself and in some points from these I still am.

First thing, you want followers. Many of them, even. You think that posting quality post will bring them here by themselves. Sadly – nuh-uh. You need to add hashtags, share blog and it’s posts wherever you can and so on, so on. Sometimes it doesn’t help as much as you wish and that’s a really big disappointment, I know. You spend so many time writing your heart out but people just don’t read that and don’t like that. Ouch. Deal with that. Many people give their blogs up because of this. I decided not to be one of them. (Yeah, even 1 like to my post can push me forward to continue this.) Who knows – maybe after year my blog will be much more successful. I’ll just do whatever I can to make it more visible to people.

Second thing, parents. Most of our parents hate that we’re wasting time on the Internet and writing bunch of stuff no one needs and reads. They really want me to clean up the house, cook, feed rabbits and so on. Still there’s no way out of their shitty attitude.. They will forever be mad so only thing I can do is not to write blog posts when they see.

Third thing, haters. Let’s be honest – no matter what you write, you don’t want your haters to read it because they already make fun of everything you do. This was the reason why I deleted my Latvian blog on blogger and started completely new one. Changing blog’s language to English, changing platform and not saying my real name here seems much better. Still – there is need to be careful and not post offensive content because you don’t know, who will read it and what they will think about you.

So here are main teen blogger rules:

  • No offensive content.
  • Promote your blog on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, whereever you can and put hashtags on it.
  • Follow other blogs that you like, don’t forget to leave nice comments and like their posts.
  • Don’t use slangs. People like understandable text.
  • Ask questions to your readers, that should make them comment more.
  • Add pictures, just not too much.

Suggestion: It really looks like teen bloggers aren’t as united as adult bloggers. Let’s change this. Let’s follow each other, read each others’ blogs and share our thoughts! To be more sure about ourselves we need to stick together and support each other. Walking this blogging path together could be easier together.

If you need to talk, I’m here and always happy to make new friends. If you want to write a blog post for my blog or me for yours, let me know. 🙂

xoxo, Porcelain Doll.

6 thoughts on “Letter to all unsure teen bloggers.

  1. Elm says:

    Hullo!
    I think this post is great. I’m a teen blogger and, surprisingly, dise are QUITE united. I know of Caitlin (A Little Daydreamer) who makes challenges and projects for teens, and I’ve made a kik chat of bloggers so that we can talk 🙂
    I can’t work it out from your posts – are you a teen or an adult?

    • porcelainblackdoll says:

      Hey! 🙂 That’s great. I don’t followany teen bloggers and most of my followers aren’t teens, so I didn’t think they are united. Haha, I’m still a teen, just a bit more mature than most people in my age. 😉

      • Elm says:

        Aha! How old are you? I know of plenty of teen bloggers 😀 Because I basically live in that community 🙂

      • porcelainblackdoll says:

        Lucky you. I should explore more teen blogs. 😉 I’m 16, I’ll be 17 in November.

Leave a Reply

